Carmel Clay School Board Welcomes New Member Jennifer Nelson-Williams

Carmel Clay School Board Welcomes New Member Jennifer Nelson-Williams

Following the retirement of longtime board member Pam Knowles, the Carmel Clay Board of School Trustees voted unanimously to select Jennifer Nelson-Williams for the District 2 seat. 

Nelson-Williams is a Carmel resident and mother of two grown children who both attended Carmel Clay Schools. She is the President/CEO of Aaron-Ruben-Nelson Funeral Home, Inc. and has a long history of volunteerism and leadership roles. In 2017, Nelson-Williams co-founded the not-for-profit Women4Change. She has served on the Board of Directors for Hooverwood Living since 1991 and is the current Treasurer of the Executive Board.

While her children attended CCS, Nelson-Williams was an active school community member and volunteered as a room mom, on various school committees, and as a reading specialist. She also stays involved with local events throughout the city, including CarmelFest, Late Night on Main, Bike Carmel, and Porchfest. 

“I am honored to be selected to serve Carmel Clay Schools and look forward to working with the existing board members,” Nelson-Williams commented. She is dedicated to children and understands the importance of committing her “time, energy, and talents to ensure the success of our community.” 

“As a school board, we are incredibly thankful that we have community members who continue to offer their time and talents in service to the students and families of Carmel Clay Schools,” remarked Katie Browning, School Board Vice President. “We had a superb group of candidates apply, and we are excited to have Jennifer join our team. She brings a wide range of experience and tremendous commitment to the community. We look forward to working with her.”

Thirteen candidates submitted applications for the vacant District 2 seat. The Board interviewed the final four applicants during a special session on October 4, 2021. The Board then met again for a special session to deliberate and vote on October 5, 2021. Jennifer Nelson-Williams will be sworn in on October 12, 2021.